Easy VPN client option in Omnia router?

Hello everyone,

My name is Mia and I’m new to the Turris Forum. (well… not really new, I’ve been reading for two years now)

I’ve seen some post in the past about people asking for vpn client (NOT server) in floris / Luci
but did not see a clear answer from anyone within the Turris project.

Is there an ‘easy’ way to set-up the Turris Omnia as for example Openvpn client and route all traffic through it?
For example a decent and trustworthy plugin for Luci?

If not, will it come with the release of TurrisOS 4? (I would only assume because it’s based on open-wrt 18.0xxx right??)

Reason I’m asking, bought two Turris Omnia’s a while ago and was thinking it had this option right out of the box. I don’t understand why it’s not in the current SW. Anyone care to explain why people of Turris project decided to not implement this feature?

Not here to rant but seriously interested why they left this feature out.

thanks
Mia

1 Like

Hello @Mia44 and welcome! I have basically the same question. I also seen people asking in the past about this but no reply from someone who is actually involed in the project itself… could be wrong but i did not see it

Hello,

I spoke with Foris developer and also with other guys about 1 or 2 months ago. I’m afraid currently there is no time and plan to have VPN client integrated to Foris.

If you want, you can help us. All source code is available on our Gitlab.
We have foris-plugin-tutorial, and you can inspire from the OpenVPN server, which we have in Foris.

For advanced administration LuCI, there is application luci-app-openvpn, which is for OpenVPN client and server, but if you created the server in Foris, there could be some collisions and incompatibility.

I tried to use it for OpenVPN client, it works.
If it is trustworthy or decent I can’t say, because it is not easy as it should be, because currently, you can’t import .ovpn extension as in Ubuntu, but there is exist a way how to do it.