Wondershaper srsly? (QOS/AQM)

To my sadness i discovered that Omnia guys didnt get the memo:
https://www.bufferbloat.net/projects/cerowrt/wiki/Wondershaper_Must_Die/

So if you go configure the default QOS mechanism, you get the famous
indiscrimiate, 10kbit burst ingress policier …

I think it is imperative for OmniaOS to have a modern and effective
QOS system, for it beeing a Network Platform.

opkg remove '*wshaper*'
opkg install luci-app-sqm
(opkg install sqm-scripts-extra)

no cake, but simplest.qos will do ok

Supplementing wondershaper for sqm-scripts and implementing cake qdisc
should do wonders especially if coupled with a foris ‘QOS’ tab.

thank you

1 Like

My Omnia just arrived today and I was a little disappointed to see wondershaper installed. Gave it a go just for fun and wow, what a mess.

I also hope that we will get some tutorial how to setup recommended QOS services… I am no expert here, but openwrt documentation mentions, that it is better to use some scripts instead deprecated wondershaper…

From what I can tell, the CoDel queuing discipline is the current state-of-the art and is implemented in SQM. I’d like to get other people’s knowledge on this and what is considered best practice today with QoS on OpenWRT.

To install it, you’ll need to browse to System -> Software and uninstall all “wshaper” packages. You might need to click the button there to update your package lists if you’re doing this for the first time too.

From there, follow the install instructions from the link (just search for and install the luci-app-sqm package).

Yes, the original poster gave the opkg commands for uninstalling the wshaper packages. You can also do this from the System->Software web page and uninstall all “wshaper” packages manually.

You can then review the OpenWrt HOWTO about SQM at: https://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/howto/sqm

Thanks for info and link. So, no wondershaper, no qos-scripts? SQM is way to go nowadays, right? Can I have following questions?