Wifi Gone Bye, bye

Hi all. I’ve been using my Omnia Turris for a few months. I really like the hardware so far. But I have a persistent issue that has plagued me for quite some time, even before the Omnia…

My wi-fi will slow, lag, and drop completely at times. It has started to become more frequent; almost everyday. Sometimes I can turn off/on my mobile/PC/Mac wifi and I am good to go. At other times I must reboot or reset the router. I know there are a LOT of variables, but why? Why am I getting this? Is there anything I can do to fix it?

I am looking at adding a wifi expander but my Omnia is almost perfectly centered in the house with little effort to get full bars wherever I am.

Could I be blanketed by other wifi around the neighborhood? I see a lot of wifi networks. How can I address this?

I know, a lot of naive, noob questions. But I’ve gotten to the point of questioning everything I think I know. If you have come across a good troubleshooting guide, I’d like that.

Thanks in advance for the mentoring ones.

-T

1 Like

By as is no crystal ball. 2,4 Ghz or 5Ghz …what chanel, what power, what wide of channel (80Mhz not the best choices) ?
Signal strength in the apartment is good?
Some error message in log ?

1 Like

Thanks for responding. Here is what I’ve gathered. Obviously the strength can change when in different locations. But location doesn’t seem to matter. I am also seeing 23+ more wifi networks within my range.

channel      signal str       width       mode         max rate
2.4GHz     11          -26 dBm         20 MHz     b/g/n        450 Mbps
5 GHz      36          -40 dBm         80 MHz      ac           1300 Mbps

let the radio0/1 to decide what channel and power should be used, when you have country-code correctly set you should have values within country norm/required limits …