Uninstallation-script

After seeing a topic made by @Etz , i thought about a script to remove all the unnecessary software that have been installed. Maybe we can work togheter and remove (uncheck) what we want the script to remove for the Omnia.

For example some of us want to use transmission and not wanting to use the webcam ability. But those guys who want the webcam ability, while not wanting the transmission torrent client.

If we create a script with commented lines for each and every software package that, we can comment on what it does and stands for and to “install” or uninstall.

To give you a small example of the script.

#!/bin/bash

##Remove the "#" to activate that line. "##" stands for a comment.

##Transmission, used for downloading torrent files
#opkg remove luci-app-transmission transmission-daemon-openssl

Please do give me the necessary feedback. I have been using script, but i KNOW i am still an amateur. So the dinosaurs among us, please do educate us with your knowledge.

1 Like

Wouldn’t it be about the same amount of work to actually install packages you want and write Uninstall "pkg" into user.lua?

What my intention is, there are many packages that are installed, but by default we may not even know of their existence while not being necessary for own usage.

So the part of “actually install package” on that part on second thought, i guess you’re right.

This is not required and because it would have to be run after every updater execution it is also not recommended. If you want minimal system then uncheck all user lists in updater tab in foris. Or edit file /etc/config/updater.

1 Like

Here is the list of packages installed by default https://api.turris.cz/openwrt-repo/omnia/lists/base.lua

@miska , @cynerd

So we can then make a script that tells what those packages that have been installed are for, give the possibility to remove them and also put this in the “user.lua” as you (@miska) suggested?