Trouble building Turris-OS

I just got a Turris Omnia and am having trouble getting the default configuration to build. I have spent several hours researching but can’t seem to get this error to go away. Please help. Seems like it might be related to the ncurses library but I am a novice at building things in Linux. I did make sure it was installed and updated though.

I changed compilers to gcc-6 and g+±6 but seem to get the same error. The log above has been updated.
Is this a bug that needs to be reported?

You are building it on your native Linux distribution, don’t you? Our fork of OpenWRT has known problems with compiling in systems with newer gcc than 4. That is because it’s based on version of OpenWRT from 2015 and does not include Lede patches solving problems with newer compiler versions. Because of that probably only distribution able to build our fork currently is Ubuntu Trusty. See https://doc.turris.cz/doc/en/howto/turris_os_build. That is why documentation as first thing lists possible container technologies. (You can also download docker container from dockerhub with precompiled sdk)

We are working on Turris OS 4.0 that is based on latest upstream OpenWRT (original lede) so we just have to survive this state for some time before 4.0 is ready.

1 Like

I’ve been finding that out slowly. I guess the documentation would help if it mentioned those things in the build without a container section.

I tried building with 14.04 and it is working much better but I’m now stuck on feeds/turrispackages/lang/python compile stating python2.7 folder is missing which is true.

cp: cannot stat '/home/foo/openwrt/staging_dir/target-arm_cortex-a9+vfpv3_uClibc-0.9.33.2_eabi/host/lib/python2.7': No such file or directory
make[3]: *** [/home/foo/openwrt/staging_dir/target-arm_cortex-a9+vfpv3_uClibc-0.9.33.2_eabi/stamp/.python_installed] Error 1
make[2]: *** [package/feeds/turrispackages/python/compile] Error 2