Setting up Nord VPN on Turris

Hey all I am wanting to have my Turris have it’s out bandwidth filtered/masked by the Nord VPN service.

Problem is that I am very new at setting anything up on the Turris so if someone has done this before then would you please let me know step-by-step on how to do it?

Thanks! :grinning:

NordVPN support WireGuard in is offer NordLynx so I recommend you to install wireguard on your Turris.
The doc is here : https://wiki.turris.cz/doc/en/public/wireguard
Enjoy the speed of wireguard

1 Like

Hi,

OpenWRT setup with NordVPN

While OpenWRT can be managed completely using SSH and the terminal, the LuCI WebUI makes many administration tasks easier.

The OpenWRT full releases, such as the current 18.06.x series, ship with the LuCI WebUI installed. But for lower-memory devices, such as those with 4MBytes Flash and/or 32MBytes of RAM, the full install may fail because of lacking sufficient Flash memory so you will have to build your own image with LuCI included. You can find more information here.

If you already have LuCI WebUI installed, skip to the step 3.

Access your router and download the OpenVPN package.

The router flashed with OpenWRT firmware image, initially accepts connection only via the telnet protocol, so you should connect to it via telnet to the IP 192.168.1.1 and change the root password with command passwd. After this command, it accepts a connection via SSH. By default the OpenVPN package isn’t included in the firmware image, so you should install it using opkg:

opkg update
opkg install openvpn-openssl
opkg install ip-full

Download the LuCI WebUI interface.

Now you will need to install the LuCI WebUI component in order to access your OpenWRT routers interface on your browser:

opkg install luci

Download the LuCI WebUI OpenVPN configuration plugin.

By default, the LuCI interface does not come with OpenVPN client configuration capabilities and the following plugin is needed:

opkg install luci-app-openvpn