Samba share doesnt show up in windows 10

im new to windows 10, used to have windows 7. from there TO local network samba share worked out of the box.

TO version is 3.11.7

in windows 10 i havent changed things.

when trying to map network share manually (\\openwrt\share) to a letter it pops out an error:

error message

Windows

The mapped network drive could not be created because the following error has occurred:

You can’t connect to the file share because it’s not secure. This share requires the obsolete SMB1 protocol, which is unsafe and could expose your system to attack.

Your system requires SMB2 or higher. For more info on resolving this issue, see: https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=852747

OK

Samba USB Disk not showing in Windows 10 this did not fix my problem.

when connecting via mobile with openvpn i can see the samba share without a hassle. with windows 7 everything worked ok.

i have network discovery on and i can see my printer and so on.

what is wrong? at least samba service is running etc because its working via openvpn with mobile.

thanks!

You should add support for smb1 in windows.

1 Like

thanks.

however is this solution secure or is smb share feature afterall “not recommended”?

if and when smb1 is not secure what is the second best / easiest way to achieve similar share system between turris omnia and win10 (that works with openvpn,too)

You can try setting min protocol to smb2 in the samba config

installing smb1 client to w10 gave me access to network share by TO.

adding following lines to samba conf however didnt give access to the share

additions to smb conf

client min protocol = SMB2
client max protocol = SMB3

so what is wrong? is enabling smb1 still only option? that sounds weird.

Client min protocol refers to the smbclients on the omnia itself. Try server min protocol instead

wsd is the solution they plan to use on freenas, and i see a wsdd2 package exists its worth a shot to see if that works