One core always at 100% (umdns ?)

Hello,
I am new to Omnia (2GB) and a bit surprised to see that one core is always running at 100%. The process is /usr/sbin/umdns started by root and it seems to use no RAM at all.

Please, what is umdns and could I reduce its CPU load ? Many thanks

My config is :
Turris Omnia
Turris OS version 5.0.0
|Turris OS branch hbt
Kernel version 4.14.172

See OpenWrt documentation [1]

If not required on your network stop the daemon and disable it from starting at boot time.

[1] [OpenWrt Wiki] Multicast DNS Daemon

1 Like

Yes, but it still sounds like a bug somewhere.

2 Likes

Thanks guys. I carefully reverted back to 4.0.5 and will reproduce the steps done while upgrading and activating services so I may find where the bug could be. I’d report if I can find it.
Thanks again

A quick note : it seems not to be related to 5.0.0 and already known (https://gitlab.labs.nic.cz/turris/turris-build/commit/0711c2c8f852ba33426aa8ea08692af604085868) but for some reason, it appeared to me after having upgraded.
Nothing more to add. Thanks

The issue been mentioned as supposedly fixed upstream [2]

Bug fixes and improvements
Services: fix a libubox regression in 19.07.1 that caused umdns to stop working (FS#2833)

[2] [OpenWrt Wiki] OpenWrt 19.07.2 - Service Release - 6 March 2020

Turris Omnia. HBK (5.0.0) I am suffering from the same issue. umdns is using 100% cpu.

Workaround for me is to disable umdns /etc/init.d/umdns disable && /etc/init.d/umdns stop. Is it even needed?

Multicast DNS (mDNS) provides the ability to perform DNS-like operations on the local link in the absence of any conventional Unicast DNS server. In addition, Multicast DNS designates a portion of the DNS namespace to be free for local use, without the need to pay any annual fee, and without the need to set up delegations or otherwise configure a conventional DNS server to answer for those names.
[…]