Omnia and second AP - local IP address not accessible when moving between WLAN, internet working

Hi Guys,

this is something why I am scratching my head for quite some time. I am no expert in this territory, so it might be something trivial. But I would really appreciate your help.

Here is the short description of the behaviour.
Omnia used as the main router with WiFi enabled, TP-Link TL-WR1043ND v2 running OpenWRT used as an AP. TP-Link is configured as per OpenWRT guide. TP Link is connected to its LAN port.
The problem I am facing is, when I move the phone around the house or manually switch from Omnia WiFi to TPLink WiFi all works as expected, but when I move back to Omnia, I lose access to local IP addresses. Then after around 4minutes 15sec (it varies between 4:00 to 4:30, though most of the times it is 4:15) the local IPs are accessible.
Internet is accessible all the time even right after the wifi change when I move back and forth between WiFis. No issues there.

What could be wrongly set? It is probably like that ever since, only now I have noticed it when I can’t access my home automation stuff when moving around the house.
I have reflashed Omnia to be sure, nothing is messed up. So on top of factory settings, I have few static leases. That’s all.

I wanted to replace TP-Link with MOX, but that is even more messed up. There I can’t get IP address when connecting via MOX WiFi (LAN connection works). But I reckon, that is not related, so let’s discard Mox problem for time being.

Thanks a lot,
Libor

For the MOX problem you should try setting wifi on it in WDS ap mode not normal ap. I have similar setup and I faced the same issue.

Edit:
For the first problem you could try adding roaming functionality to your setup following this:

And this:

But roaming requires you to have the same SSID on every roamed network. I have roaming enabled between 2.4GHz and 5Ghz. Still not sure if its working.