NAS setup for newbie [solved]

Hello,

i would like to get some answers. I am a pretty newbie.

Here what i already did.
I got omnia + NAS box perk.
I got two 3TB hdds for data.
I mount it all by using nice tutorial on youtube from CZ.NIC.

After start i opened guide on web and started with step by step.
First stuck was at point one. (you need to know file system)
Ok my drive dont have file system jet they dont have any particion jet… So how to create new particion and how to format it correctly …
I did not found any “click able” interface for it so i used google and found the way true fdisk command and mkfs.ext4 command.

After that i was able to process guide from turris web.
So i mounted drives (to one folder /mnt/nas hope its not a problem)

and run samba service by user guide. So i want all from my network to be able to acces and write to this folder.

I see folder on network but when i try to copy there any file in W10 its says you dont have permition to do that kind of action.

Anyone can tell me where and what to setup to be able to copy files there?

Thank you very much
Ondrej

Check the owner of smbd process with ps command, for example using -ef option. And then check that /mnt/nas has permissions that allow the owner of smbd process to write there, for example using ls -la /mnt/nas command. You can change the owner and permissions with chown, chgrp and chmod commands.

Thanks a lot i used this:
chmod 777 /mnt/nas
and it work!

1 Like

Hello, i have too problem with advanced access rights.

samba on turris really does not have any group to add rights over “group”.
So for access and share in samba must directory have 777 mode.
As group i used transmission for torrent client.

What i need, and can´t setup:

I need have many users, and for some users i need to have reed access to directory /mnt/Disk/Films
and for some users i need to have write access to this directory.

But for second directory /mnt/Disk/Photos/