Making the Omnia work in the real world

My router arrived just before Thanksgiving so I had a few days to get to know it. I’ve been reading the challenges people had on this forum but decided to dive straight in. I’ve been using OpenWRT for many years so have no issues with LuCI, UCI or generally directly editing the config files. I also had a mature, working setup on my WRT1900AC and suffered the early days of OpenWRT on that device too. I was an early backer of this device and appear to be one of the last to recieve the device. I guess that’s because I checked the 2GB option.

In the hope that the last couple of days can help both Turris get their act together and others get their routers configred to their liking, here’s what I did:

Basic Config:

• Wireless - off ( I’m running this as a pure wired device since it sits in a 19" rack in the basement )

• VLANs: wifi (eth2/Port4) , DMZ(eth0.4/port 1) , Lan (eth0.3/port0), each with DHCP ranges, all based on 192.168.YY.XX / 24. I left the original vlan configs alone and set the two new ones with untagged on egress and tagged at the CPU. These feed into an external managed switch and any trunking is done at the managed switch.

• OpenVPN using a previous config

• mSata installed in the ‘CPU PCI slot’. Mounted as /mnt/sda1 (though also automounts for some reason - need to fix that). This needed to be an ext4 fs rather than xfs but I think this is more of an OpenWRT issue than Turris’

• DHCP and DNS being served through dnsmasq ( I’m too lazy to go reconfigure kresd etc right now and had a whole bunch of static IP addresses served to known devices in my house)

• installed a UART->USB serial connector (not the ‘hacker pack’)

• Firewall: Because of the VLANs, NAT setups and years of firewall tweaking, I copied over the config from the previous router, edited a few settings and use that to kick start the firewall on the Omnia.

I disabled: