Larger WiFi Card Support

I was wondering if it would be possible to install this card on the Turris:

http://www.524wifi.com/index.php/minipci-pcie-atheros-cards/compex-wle1200v5-22-4x4-802-11ac-minipcie-radio-card.html

Please advise.

A datasheet for the card can be found here:

http://www.compex.com.sg/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/WLE1200V5-22-v2.1-2.pdf

I noticed this:
Operating Voltage 3.3V DC, 5V (compulsory and external)
You may need an external power source too.

I’m interested in this too.
The problem with WLE900 is that it has a needlessly thick (IMO, I’m not an RF engineer) shield on the bottom of the card, since it puts the actual electronics on the bottom while the top is just RF connectors+heatsink.
The WLE1200 doesn’t have that problem, but it’s so wide it will block all 3 slots. It should “work”, but at the expense of the other 2 slots.
To alleviate spacing issues, you could use a flexible riser/extender for the mPCIe slot, but another thing to consider with these cards is that they require external power. There might be somewhere to grab 5v off the board, but it would have to handle ~2.5A for the WLE1200’s 13W requirement.

I ordered the Turris wifi router today. But i do not understand the concept of wifi cards.
The router transmits wifi signals by itself. So why need wifi cards?

The router essentially is a board that “just” connects various components such as the CPU, memory, WiFi cards etc. So it can’t do any WiFi by itself, that’s why it requires the cards.

The cards are the hardware part for the WiFi stuff :wink:

M4x

Thanks, I understand now.

I guess that choosing the right card will satisfy specific needs of users. For example hotel owners will have different cards than for example a family with about 4 persons.
Maybe one card has a bigger range, or other frequencies than another card?
I guess I learned something new today.