[GUIDE] HowTo | Adblock getting to Work! | Easy Settings | SSH Blacklist List

Here is the VPN Adblock Settings that works with the Turris Omnia (I think Mox to):

1. First learn how to use Basic SSH Commands:
    https://www.hostinger.com/tutorials/ssh/basic-ssh-commands
    HowTo Save files:
    https://help.dreamhost.com/hc/en-us/articles/115006413028-Creating-and-editing-a-file-via-SSH
    -> To use nano commands you need to install in Luci->System-Software->download nano
  2. Connect with terminal (linux): “ssh root@192.168.1.1” to Turris Omnia and use your Luci Passwort
  3. Use the Guide from falkon:
    Adblock package release for turris omnia
    -> To Save hit ESC -> “:wq” and use wget for download & Enable Blacklist (First Blacklist>Repo)

Hi dibdot,

thank you very much for your manual how to set up adblock on Turris Omnia!

Unfortunately, when I followed your steps, it was not very straightforward for me – I’m not very experienced OpenWRT user though I have non-trivial Linux administration experience.That’s why I would like to share my step-by-step guide for other users. Feel free to update your first post if you like it.

So, here we go:

1. [optional] Change current dir to /tmp , so you do not write to the Turris’ (precious) internal Flash memory. But you can use any dir you like…[turris]:/# cd /tmp
  2. Download AdBlock packages: adblock and luci-app-adblock . Find the latest version on these pages: adblock package and luci-app-adblock . Use proper links in wget commands below:[turris]:/tmp# wget https://downloads.lede-project.org/snapshots/packages/x86_64/packages/adblock_3.0.2-1_all.ipk
    [turris]:/tmp# wget https://downloads.lede-project.org/snapshots/packages/x86_64/luci/luci-app-adblock_git-17.257.70215-07593d2-1_all.ipk
  3. Install both packages:[turris]:/tmp# opkg install adblock_3.0.2-1_all.ipk
    [turris]:/tmp# opkg install luci-app-adblock_git-17.257.70215-07593d2-1_all.ipk