Guest and Intranet WIFI Configuration

Hello,
I see that turris docs doesnt include Omnia version yet. I am interested in creating two Wifi zones.

One for Intranet as LAN alternative
Other one for guest and their devices. Here I would like to limit max bandwitch.

Could you give me a hint for wifi / network confs? I think no additional VLAN is necessary? It should be possible via two wifi interfaces, right? I have no experience with QoS scripts although.

1 Like

I think for this you would need to use LuCI and there you can define another SSID and decide where to put it. Easiest would be to create a separate “Intreface” for it in Netwrok->Interfaces first, then setup new SSID and put it in and then you can use Wondershaper on top of the “Interface” to limit the speed. Inteface in this context is not real interface bu more like a bridge, sometimes LuCI terminology is a little bit confusing.

1 Like

Thanks… I read somewhere that wondershape is obsolete and best “modern” way is use qos script or something (https://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/recipes/guest-wlan https://www.bufferbloat.net/projects/cerowrt/wiki/Wondershaper_Must_Die/). But I dont have experience with those, and from commits I see there was some bugs. Hope NIC provides some tutorial how to do proper QOS.

I think at least prioritize live communication as skype/lync/etc… isnt uncommon for the basic router usage.

As I dont need 2.5+5 Ghz combo, most propably I will configure one wifi for guest, and other one as WLAN… I hope there will be tutorial also… I have working configuration @OpenWRT on my TPLink, but I bet there is multiple way to configure it and I would like to have clean and best possible way to do that. Believing NIC guys :slight_smile:

Anyway, now I am wondering if its better to have two interfaces on one wifi module, or two interfaces on two wifi modules.

I would like to avoid any problems with interfering wifis (mentioned for example here https://www.turris.cz/forum/topic_show.pl?tid=52)