Gentoo LXC up and running - Success in the first try

While there are quite some shortcomings w.r.t. essential documentation, I was very pleased of the Gentoo-LXC container, CZ.NIC has supplied with the TO router. And I think, it was just fair, to report the positive, too. I am completely new to OpenWRT (and it sure has a learning curve) and still quite new in Gentoo. Nevertheless it might be, that somebody found my comments useful…

I will describe the steps, I used to upgrade the LXC container into a fully working Gentoo installation. Note that this does require to have a SSD mounted to hold the files of the LXC container. CZ.NIC did quite a good job, cutting everything off, which is not absolutely necessary to run the container - we will need to add quite a bit of stuff in the following. My final target is to have a Samba4 Domain Controller running in the LXC container - not the file server. My file server is a real machine with a H/W raid and an i7 CPU…

We start in LuCI creating the container by downloading the Gentoo prototype. To get a fixed IP we add these two lines to the configuration (fill in an IP OK for You):

lxc.network.ipv4 = 192.168.1.25/24
lxc.network.ipv4.gateway = auto

The name of my VM is horus, as it dwells in the dark inards of the Turris. :wink: So lets log into it to fire up the ssh server

lxc-attach -n horus

First set the root password, furthermore it might be useful to set PermitRootLogin to yes until You have set up the ssh-keys. You might find it useful to edit /etc/ssh/sshd-config from a T/O session as our Gentoo container right now only has nano, which is awkward once You are used to vim. After that is done, we start the ssh server on horus (and let it restart after reboot).

rc-service sshd start
rc-update add sshd default

ssh to it to check everything went OK. Next we prepare the Gentoo repo:

mkdir /etc/portage/repos.conf
vim /etc/portage/repos.conf/gentoo.conf

fill in this:

[DEFAULT]
main-repo = gentoo

[gentoo]