Failed password form Chinese IP / Hacking?

Hi friends

In my log I have hundreds of these entries:

2018-04-15T13:12:01+02:00 info sshd[14344]: Failed password for root from 182.100.67.120 port 40522 ssh2
2018-04-15T15:12:05+02:00 info sshd[14372]: Last message 'Failed password for ’ repeated 5 times, suppressed by syslog-ng on turris
2018-04-15T13:12:05+02:00 err sshd[14344]: error: maximum authentication attempts exceeded for root from 182.100.67.120 port 40522 ssh2 [preauth]
2018-04-15T13:12:05+02:00 info sshd[14344]: Disconnecting authenticating user root 182.100.67.120 port 40522: Too many authentication failures [preauth]

The IP belongs to a chinese owner.I am not an expert, therefore my question: Does somebody try to hack my router. What should I do?

Thanks and best regards

Heinz

It’s perfectly normal to get many such attempts every week on a public IPv4. You should have a password that isn’t easy to guess (or restrict to auth. via ssh key only). BTW, you may prefer to hide your IP from the logs here.

@HeLy If the sshd port requires exposure to the WAN it is commonly recommended to change the sshd port to somewhere within the ephemeral ip4 port range in order to mitigate such attacks.

I suppose there’s a misunderstanding. I was just notifying that usually one doesn’t want to post their IP address on forum for everyone to read. It’s really unrelated to firewalling. EDIT: and I didn’t immediately notice that it’s the attacker’s IP and not the target IP :slight_smile:

Yep, my bad - happens sometimes with (improper) speed reading

Thx for this answer, as I wrote I am not an expert, so for me this was just too high “it is commonly recommended to change the sshd port to somewhere within the ephemeral ip4 port range”

SSHD Port?
ephemeral ip4 port range?
How to…

Sorry and thx!