RAID 1 is built, but drive is "faulty spare" even though SMART is OK

Hello everyone.

I am aware that this forum is more or less flooded with RAID issues, but my problem is different from the others. FYI, I am using two 4 TB Western Digital Blue (so, like the Green series in the past) and I am not a programmer. But I feel quite comfortable with command line and proficient with Google. So before posting here I spent quite a few hours trying to get it to work by myself.

Here is what I did: I created a RAID 1 over sda1 and sdb1 via using

mdadm -Cv /dev/md0 -l1 -n2 /dev/sda1 /dev/sdb1

I left the build running and when I returned home md0 was nowhere to be found. So I restarted the Turris and used

mdadm --assemble --scan

to assemble the array. It creates md0 as expected, starts a resync but after a while it shows the drive sdb1 as “faulty spare” when checking the array via

mdadm --detail /dev/md0

This would be all OK, if it were not a brand new drive and SMART tells me it’s OK when running:

smartctl -H /dev/sdb

Anyone have an idea what I am doing wrong? I read somewhere that sometimes consumer level drives try to reread faulty sectors more times than enterprice level disks and this can cause the RAID to fail.

Another problem I have is that I cannot mount the RAID as “mount” tells me it “can’t find /dev/md0 in /etc/fstab”

Edit: OK, after removing the RAID and starting from the start I now know that it starts syncing after creating it but interrupts it after a short period of time. During that time, the finish time from

cat /proc/mdstat

is ever increasing.

So it seems like he is unable to sync the two drives, for whichever reason.

This is exactly what ive encounter too here.
And others here

1 Like

Hi,
I’m having the same problems. Try to make the the two gpt partitions for the raid with gdisk. Saddly gdisk is not available in turris or openwrt so do it with a computer.
For the boot add to /etc/rc.local
mdadm --assemble --scan
and if using lvm
vgscan