How to setup the SSD

I followed the very good YouTube video showing how to install an SSD. Sorrry guys, I’m a noob. Is there a post that provides instructions regarding: mounting, formatting, sharing etc?

You can follow the steps in: mSATA NAS setup - solved

It looks to me as if the SSD is not seen by the router at /dev. The fdisk command returns the following message:

“Device does not contain a recognized partition table.”
“Created a new DOS disk label with disk identifier 0xe6e73459.”

Any ideas?

Create a partition table on the disk?
Using some Google-fu it should not be that hard to figure out :wink:

Sorry?

Are you suggesting that I remove the drive from the Turris and format it on another computer?

try to run command fdisk -l in an ssh console. this should list the SSD /dev/sda most probably.
once it works , try to run fdisk /dev/sda (or the sdx whichever it shows in the output of the command above)
with “m” you can list all the fdisk options. (i suppose you want to make a new partition, once finished choose “w” to write changes to disk)

if you succeeded creating a partition (or more) you want to make sure you format it to some file system of your choice. usually it can be done with the mkfs.xxxx commands, (hit a few TAB after entering a few letters of the command)

(just making sure, did you insert the ssd into the slot closest to the CPU?)

i am also a very basic user, just tried to help.
one thing is sure, you can make the ssd functional in the omnia, no need to edit the ssd in another computer.

2 Likes

I would advice you to tell in a post exactly what you want to do. I haven’t configured my own SSD yet because i am waiting for the firmware updates. I/we can guide you through the steps for what you want to achieve.

For example…

SSD size = 64 GB

I want 2 partitions.

Partition 1 = 32 GB
Partition 2 = 32 GB

Partition 1 will be used for Omnia to be reached via network (SAMBA/SMB)
Partition 2 will be used for LXC.